If you live in Florida and own a car, there are some facts about auto insurance in Florida that would be beneficial to know. Did you know that requires its residents to have car insurance? Well, that is no surprise. Where can you go where car insurance is not a necessity? Really, you’d be crazy to drive without it. Driving without it is for the most part, down-right illegal. It is your responsibility to purchase the minimum coverage amounts for both personal injury protection insurance and property damage liability car insurance. In Florida, this required insurance coverage is offset by some of the lowest costs of insurance minimums in the entire United States.
You see, if you are injured in an accident, your car insurance will pay your medical costs up to your policy’s limits, regardless of who caused the accident. That is because Florida is a no-fault insurance state. With that, you get the minimum coverage limits on insurance,
- $10,000 of no-fault or personal injury protection insurance.
- $10,000 of property damage liability (PDL) insurance.
Just as in many other states, requires your insurance company to electronically notify them if there is a cancellation of your insurance policy. Why would there be a cancellation? With the cheapest auto insurance rates in the nation, having this insurance is affordable on any budget. However, if the DHSMV has no record of your current car insurance policy, you will be notified by mail. This notification will give you a date you will be suspended and will ask you to provide proof on insurance before the suspension date. If you do not provide the DHSMV a proof of insurance before the suspension date, your driver’s license, plates, and registration will all be suspended. To reinstate these, you will have to provide proof of Florida insurance and pay,
- $150 for your first offense.
- $250 for your second offense.
- $500 for each offense after.
If you do provide proof of insurance to the DHSMV before the date of suspension, you will not face any penalties. As you can see, the process to get all of these reinstated can be an unnecessary expense, so it would be best to keep your insurance current and active.
These types of coverages are as follows:
- Comprehensive coverage will pay for damages to your car that do not result from accidents such as scratches to your car’s paint due to vandalism.
- Collision coverage will pay for accident-related damages to your car.
- Towing and labor so that you never have to leave your car in an unsafe area if it becomes disabled.
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will pay for damages incurred by incidents with drivers who do not have insurance.
- Rental car coverage so you will not be left without transportation while your car is being repaired or replaced due to accident.
There is a reason that Florida requires no-fault car insurance. It is to protect Florida drivers from being sued after an accident. Although, if you get into an accident, there is always still a chance the victim(s) will sue you. This is especially, true if one or more victims suffers severe injury or if there is a fatality. That is why having the additional Bodily Injury Liability will give you an added protection if an accident occurs. So perhaps an accident does happen, this coverage will help pay for injuries sustained by the victims of that accident. It will cover up to the limits of the policy. It will also help pay for the cost of a lawyer in the event you are sued.
Now suppose you’ve been in a car accident or have had certain traffic violation convictions. You may be required to purchase additional car insurance in Florida such as an certification. It is non-cancelable for up to two years and you must pay the entire premium at the time you purchase it and each time you renew it. This will apply to you if,
- You are involved in a car accident that causes injuries or property damage.
- You have had your driver’s license suspended due to excessive traffic violation points.
- Your driver’s license has been habitually revoked.
There is one other type of coverage for those convicted of a DUI. You may be required to file an . FR-44 certificates are required when a driver has been convicted of a DUI and did not hold the following amounts of coverage for bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance on the date of the arrest. If you are convicted of a DUI in Florida, you may be required to purchase additional insurance and file an FR-44 form as proof of that coverage.
- $100,000 for injuries to any one person.
- $300,000 for injuries to all people in one accident.
- $50,000 for property damage liability (PDL).
We all know that driving under the influence is dangerous, and it can be extremely costly for everyone involved. It is best to drive sober, stay safe and keep your car insurance premiums down.