As an automobile owner, you have a certain responsibility that you must legally adhere to. Most importantly is carrying the proper car insurance in the state of Florida. As in other states, carrying the right insurance is not only a necessity, it can protect you and your property from legal damages that can occur as the result of an accident. Under Florida law it is required that motorists carry two types of coverage. As a part of every car insurance policy sold in the State of Florida it must include personal injury protection and property damage liability. Because Florida is a “no fault” insurance state, it is required that you carry both. No fault means that it does not matter who is at fault when an automobile accident occurs, the personal injury protection benefits will apply to medical expenses or income losses that result from the accident. Also, will provide coverage if the motorist damages another person’s car in an automobile collision. However, neither of these types of required insurance coverages will cover damage which occurs to a motorist’s vehicle because of the accident. This will leave the motorist with large car repair bills if an accident happens that will result in damage to the motorist’s car.
- Bodily injury liability for one person – $10,000
- Bodily injury liability for two or more people – $20,000
- Property damage liability – $10,000
- Combined single limits – $30,000
Can you believe that in Florida, according to law, motorists are not required to carry collision insurance as a part of their automobile insurance policy? Having collision insurance will provide coverage for damages that happens to the policyholder’s vehicle in an accident. Take for example situations where collision coverage would cover damages to your vehicle that are caused by accidents like hitting a tree, hitting a curb or pothole, backing into another car in a parking lot and commonly, being hit or hitting another car in an automobile accident. In addition, collision coverage is usually accompanied by a deductible. This is a fixed amount of the repair bill that the motorist is personally responsible to pay. We all know that deductibles can be quite high and many are not prepared to pay this cost. So, if you are a Florida motorist and have a $500 deductible and hit a tree, you would be responsible for the first $500 of the car repair bills. Then the insurance company would cover the remaining $2,000. This is why purchasing collision coverage is so valuable to Florida motorist.
It is very important that Florida motorist purchasing collision coverage. Can you imagine getting into a car accident and not having the required coverage? Not having this coverage can cause you to have many sleepless nights. This coverage can also be required by the lender that financed your car or dealer if your vehicle is leased. According to the , the average car repair bill was $2,452. Nobody wants to face that kind of unexpected repair bill, especially one that could be in the thousands. Compare this with a fixed, predictable deductible and you would be saving money by purchasing collision coverage. So that goes to show that collision coverage is a great bargain.
Not sure what to do concerning your automobile insurance in case of an accident? First things first, no matter what insist that the crash is reported to the police so that the police officer can complete the necessary forms. It is also advisable that you not try to negotiate a payment agreement with the other parties to settle damages yourself. Doing it on your own without a crash report from a police officer could result in you not getting you full compensation for damages and can potentially expose you to personal liability. Since no official report of the crash exists, it could become your word against theirs. The Florida Bureau of Motorist Compliance will not be able to assist you if there is no crash report filled out by a police officer.
Also, it would be to your benefit to follow through with these additional pointers such as,
- Confirming that the police officer completely records insurance information on the crash report. Every single detail is important.
- Contact your insurance company immediately or within the time specified by your policy to report the crash.
- Determine if the other party is insured or uninsured. Then you should report the information to your insurance company so that they can pursue compensation since they have more information resources at their disposal.
- Do not confront an at-fault party yourself with demands. You may never know the mentality of the at-fault person. You may be dealing with a violent person and put yourself in harm’s way. Allow your insurance company to handle that.
Following the above important information will give you a greater advantage with handling the business of auto insurance in Florida.