Car insurance is something you should not be without because it is required in many states including Florida. You are breaking the law if you don’t meet the state minimum car insurance in Florida. To get car insurance, you will want to get a state minimum car insurance quote to compare your rates so that you can get the best deal out there. However, before you get your car insurance quote, you will want to familiarize yourself with the state minimum car insurance requirements in Florida. Understanding what is required of you when it comes to insurance will help you be sure you are getting the coverage you need.
Below, you will learn about the state minimum car insurance requirement in Florida as well as how to get a state minimum car insurance quote in Florida. Learn more below.
The State Minimum Car Insurance in Florida
In the state of Florida, you have two different types of required insurance. The state minimum car insurance requires you to have property damage liability insurance and personal injury protection insurance.
- Personal Injury Protection – The first insurance requirement is personal injury protection. This type of insurance is for medical expenses. The minimum requirement for personal injury protection in Florida is to have $10,000 of coverage. This coverage will cover 80% of your medical expenses up to $10,000, which can include hospital stays, ambulance rides, medication, surgery, and more. Personal injury protection insurance also covers lost income. Your personal injury protection insurance can cover 60% of lost wages from an injury that occurred as a result of a car crash. The final part of the personal injury protection insurance is the $5,000 death benefit if an insurance holder dies as the result of a car accident.
- Property Damage Liability – Your second required piece of car insurance in Florida is property damage liability insurance. This insurance coverage is for damage to property or other vehicles as the result of a car accident. You have to be at fault for the accident for your insurance company to pay for property damage. If the other person were at fault, their insurance would cover damages. Property damage liability insurance covers repairs to the other party’s vehicle, repairs for buildings or business, lost income from a business your accident caused, and damage to other property like fences and lampposts. In Florida, you are required to have at least $10,000 in property damage liability insurance to meet the minimum state requirement for car insurance.
Now that you know what is required of you for the state minimum car insurance in Florida, it will be easier for you to get a state minimum car insurance quote. Is important to know what your state requires, and if you want more than the minimum coverage when you are getting a state minimum car insurance quote.
How to Get a State Minimum Car Insurance Quote
There are a couple of different ways to get a car insurance quote. The most popular is probably to get a car insurance quote online. However, you also could go to see an insurance agent in person to discuss your car insurance options. Regardless of which way you decide to get a quote, you will need to have some information with you to get your insurance quote. Car insurance quotes are based on your age, your car, and your zip code. Specific areas are more expensive for car insurance, just as insurance companies have slightly different rates depending on the age of the driver. To get a quote, you will need your age, the make and model of your car, and your zip code. After plugging this information in online or giving it to an insurance agent, you will be able to get a state minimum car insurance quote.
You will not want to stop there, however. Getting more than one insurance quote is essential. The purpose of an insurance quote is to determine whether or not you are getting a good deal on your auto insurance. Therefore, you will need at least two quotes to compare prices. Then, you can decide which car insurance company is best for you in regards to price and coverage.
If you need help getting a state minimum car insurance quote, we can help you. At Insurance Express, we can help you better understand car insurance. We can also help you get your state minimum car insurance quote. Feel free to reach out to us if you have questions or concerns about your car insurance coverage. Our goal is to help people understand their car insurance so that they can be confident when they need to use it. Let us know what we can do to help you with your car insurance journey.