Want to make a comparison of State Minimum Car Insurance Quotes between Florida and Alabama? Surprisingly, the rules of State Min Car Insurance in both states are quite similar.
Alabama’s Mandatory Liability Insurance Law was enacted to help define Alabama car insurance rules for all drivers. The law now requires Alabama drivers to carry auto insurance for their registered vehicles. To fulfill Alabama car insurance laws, you must have liability insurance to help pay for any damages or injuries you may cause to others in a car accident.
Alabama’s liability coverage must include the following minimums:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death per person.
- $50,000 total for bodily injury or death per accident.
- $25,000 for property damage.
Your Alabama liability insurance will not cover damages to your car or your personal injuries. Most Alabama car insurance companies offer optional types of coverage to help with these costs.
In the state of Florida, every vehicle must maintain minimum car insurance coverage. In order to register your vehicle, you must have proof of Florida coverage. The minimum requirement is $10,000 personal injury protection (PIP) and $10,000 property damage liability (PDL).
If you have been in a crash or convicted of certain offenses, the Florida DMV can request you purchase additional auto insurance coverage such as bodily injury liability coverage (BIL).
It is important to shop around for the best rates for Florida Auto Insurance.
The insurance rate you are given is based on many factors including your driving record, your age, where you live, and the kind of car you drive. If you driver’s license is in good status you will be eligible for better rates and if you live in a busy the city your insurance rates will be higher than smaller, less congested towns. Auto insurance providers do not figure their rates the same way so you will receive different rates for the same driver.
State Required Auto Insurance
State minimum car insurance means a policy that meets the state coverage requirements for you to drive legally. It typically includes liability and property damage coverage, and may also include personal injury protection or uninsured motorist coverage. The most obvious benefit of going for the minimum car insurance coverage required by your state? It’s the cheapest option. Some insurers even specialize in offering state min auto insurance for drivers on a tight budget.
Buying the state minimum insurance is also a lot better than the alternative: driving uninsured. Every state except for New Hampshire requires drivers to carry liability insurance, and there are stiff penalties if you’re caught driving without it. You don’t have to be pulled over to have your insurance status checked. Several states use electronic insurance verification, in which insurance records are checked against motor vehicle registrations. However, insurance experts warn that having the state required auto insurance won’t protect you sufficiently in case of an accident. In 2012, the average insurance claim amounts were:
- $3,073 for property damage
- $2,950 for collision
- $1,585 for comprehensive
- $14,653 for bodily injury
These numbers each represent the amount filed for a single claim. In one accident, multiple claims may be filed for damage to the vehicles and injuries to each passenger. If you cause a serious — or even a minor — accident, you may find yourself responsible for paying several thousands of dollars for the other driver’s vehicle damage and injuries. The other party can sue you for damages and force you to sell your assets to pay the debt. In addition to PIP (Personal Injury Protection), PDL (Property Damage Liability), and BIL (Bodily Injury Liability) insurance coverage, Florida auto insurance companies will also offer optional coverage such as collision, comprehensive, and uninsured and underinsured motorists coverage.
Get a State Minimum Car Insurance Quote
The state minimum car insurance quotes from and insurance rates you are given is based on many factors including your driving record, your age, where you live, and the kind of car you drive. When you register your vehicle, you must have proof of Florida coverage. If you driver’s license is in good status you will be eligible for better rates and if you live in a busy the city your insurance rates will be higher than smaller, less congested towns. Auto insurance providers do not figure their rates the same way so you will receive different rates for the same driver.
Also, state minimum car insurance does not include collision coverage, which pays for damage to your car in an accident, or comprehensive coverage, which protects your car from theft, flooding and other damage not caused by an accident. You never want to be caught off guard without the coverages you need for your situation. An can tell you more about coverages. Without these coverages, you’ll have to pay to fix or replace your car yourself. In the state of Florida, it is required that every vehicle with four or more wheels maintain State Min Auto Insurance in South Florida coverage.