Anybody who’s been involved in even a small fender bender in Ocean Harbor can tell you how important insurance is. It’s required by Florida law. When you have comprehensive insurance policies, you don’t have to worry about who is going to pay all the bills. A small accident could still cause issues like whiplash. You never know what the other party is going to claim. This is why no matter how small, always call the police and your insurance company immediately. Have the accident officially documented. A more serious accident could cost you thousands in medical bills, car repairs or replacement, and legal bills. It could also cost you your license if you’re not properly covered.
Most Floridians are only required to carry basic coverage for any other parties involved when you’re at fault. More people realize the importance of the next step. If you’re injured, you could still get stuck with expensive medical bills. Bodily injury coverage protects you and your passengers. You decide up front how much you want to buy. Some insurance companies don’t sell policies without it. When are you required to carry this extra coverage?
Florida Statute 324.023 requires those convicted of a DUI/DWI to carry bodily injury liability. Those convicted before or on October 1, 2007 need a minimum of $10,000 per person with $20,000 for each incident. Those convicted after October 1, 2007 are required to carry much more at $100,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. After a conviction, you have to carry bodily injury liability coverage for a period of three years.
This countdown starts when you regain your driving privileges.
Do You Meet the Standards of the Florida Financial Responsibility Law?
Some people choose to drive without bodily injury coverage. Under the Florida Financial Responsibility Law, the at-fault party in an accident has to carry a minimum of $10,000 per person coverage. This adds up to a total of $20,000 or more per accident. Bodily injury coverage takes care of this obligation. Otherwise, you’d have to post a bond for the minimum amount. If there’s a judgment against you, you could face even greater financial hardship.
Shop in Ocean Harbor for Insurance That Meets Florida Requirements
How do you find the right insurance policy for drivers in your home? Not everyone is required to have bodily injury coverage, but it helps. It takes care of the basic legal requirements should something go wrong. Some insurance companies only offer plans that meet certain basic standards. Taking the cheapest insurance policy could come at a cost if you’re at fault in an accident. You could end up paying high bonds and legal fees.
If you’re injured, you could also accrue medical bills of your own. Even whiplash can be expensive to treat depending on the severity. How do you find the right insurance policy?
- Run an Online Search: In today’s market, you don’t have to put in your information ten times on different sites to get a quote. Instead, use Insurance Express and explore more options at once.
- Decide How Many People You Need to Cover: If you have young teens, you might wait to get their license. Some couples get separate policies when one partner has a DUI/DWI. Websites lay out your options. Use this to compare pricing.
- Do an Annual Rate Check: You don’t have to switch companies. Checking your rates elsewhere won’t trigger your insurance company to check your driving history. If the rates are higher, you’ll know you’re still getting the best rates. If they’re not, consider the cost of switching.
- Compare Apples to Apples: You might find much lower rates only to realize you’re not getting the same coverage. You’re paying less because they’ve cut out key coverage. Depending on what you have now, this could put you at risk of higher liability.
- Look at Your Coverage: If you have more than the minimum coverage required by Florida law, the change could be smart. Why pay more for something you don’t need? Insurance professionals evaluate policies and help buyers make decisions every day. They determine whether the current coverage is needed and where cuts can and should be made to cut costs without increasing your risk.
- Look at Your Deductible: Some insurance policies have no deductible. If you have a car loan, your bank will require certain coverage including a $500 deductible or less. If you don’t have an active car loan, increasing your deductible lowers your monthly rate. Make sure you can afford the deductible if you get in an unexpected accident.
If you need auto insurance or want to find a better policy, now is the time to move forward. Click here to explore different options and get competitive quotes that meet your needs.